Acropolis Rally


ERC Acropolis Rally 2014

The ERC Acropolis Rally 2014 was realized in the city of Loutraki with absolute success and high level participants and delegations. Craig Breen with his Peugeot 208 T16 made his first official appearance and managed to put his name on the list of the Acropolis Rally winners! It was also the winning debut for the 208 R5 and the first time in the career of the Irish driver to step up on the top of the podium, both in the ERC and internationally. He was in fact the winner beyond any doubt since he was on the lead of the overall classification during both days of the rally. He faced no problems on the gravel stages and, in fact, not even the counter attack of Bryan Bouffier with his Citroen DS3 RRC was capable of threatening him. On the contrary, whenever needed he speeded up in the special stages, managing in the end to celebrate an impressive win which made the organizers of the Eurosport event to award him with the "Colin McRae Trophy", a prize given to the most spectacular driver of each ERC round.

The second position of the podium was taken by the French Bryan Bouffier, former official test driver of Hyundai and the third position by the Polish Rally Champion Kajetan Kajetanowicz and his Ford Fiesta. Further behind, at the fourth overall position, lies Esapekka Lappi and his factory supported Skoda Fabia S2000. The fifth position was won by the Portuguese Bruno Magalhaes with his Peugeot 207 S2000 who was troubled throughout the rally by both poor tyre choice and car setup. Anyhow, the former Portugal Rally Champion is more than happy for the final result as he has minimum participation in gravel rallies over the past years.

The 60th Acropolis Rally closed with the typical Award Ceremony at the crowded Service Park at Loutraki.