Loutraki and the surrounding area is the living proof that classical Greek values and antiquities still have much to teach us. All it takes is the desire to explore and eyes and mind wide open to see these antiquities, to admire them, to learn from them.
Apollon, God of the sun and well-being and Hera, mother of all Gods, were worshipped here in temples, ruins of which still remain nowadays. The first written reference to the water of Loutraki is in the «Hellenica» by the Athenian historian Xenophon (431-351 B.C.). He referred to Thermes (the ancient name of Loutraki) mentioning that Agisilaos, King of Sparta, had camped there during the Corinthian war (395-387 B.C.). His description combined with historical facts and archaeological findings, confirm that this information refers to the city of Loutraki. The area also known as Peraea (Peraea means beyond Corinth), was colonized by the Corinthians in 750 BC.
There are also historical references that ,in 146 BC, when the city came under domination of the Romans, General Sulla, was cured by its spa water and thus its secrets were disseminated throughout the entire Roman world.
Moreover, plenty of churches built during the Byzantine era indicate the importance of the city and its historical development through the ages. Loutraki had a key role during the Greek Revolution in 1821 due to its geographical position, as many battles took place there. The most famous battle was against Dramalis (September 25th-27th, 1822) where Greek troops obliterated Dramalis’ forces - the victorious battle strongly contributed to the results of the revolution: the liberation and the establishment of the Greek State.
Twelve kilometers from the cosmopolitan Loutraki lies the historical village of Perahora, well known for its wine production. In antiquity, it was called “Peraea” and there are a lot of archaeological finds - the ruins of ancient Oenoe (Schinos) and the tombs of Peraea - that confirm its existing ever since the prehistoric era. Yet, the most important findings are located in Heraion. There are ancient sites and the temple of goddess Hera. Unique findings were also excavated in this area, such as ruins of temples, samples of ceramic art, silver and golden coins, copper tools, plenty of seals as well as road traces, fountains and tanks that indicate the existence of a properly developed water supply system.
In the northwest of the city of Agioi Theodoroi, in 1961, archaeologists discovered the ruins of ancient Krommyon. Finest masterpieces were revealed ,like a statue of Apollon, many black-figured vases and geometric shaft tombs. According to Stravona, the entire coastal region of the Saronic and the Elefsinian Gulf was called Krommyon. Krommyon belonged to Megara until the 6th century B.C.and then it came under the possession of Corinth. There are two versions about the name of the ancient Krommyon. According to the first version it was named after onions (the ancient word is krommyon) which were produced in this area,whereas, according to the second version, it was named after Krommo, Poseidon’s son. The area was widely known for the legend of Faia, the terrifying monster which the legendary hero Theseus killed on his way from Trizina to Athens.
Another excavation revealed a small circular area but it has not been determined yet whether this used to be a worship place or a small orchestra theater.